Saturday, August 4, 2018

Past event (2018)

Matinee Concert

Saturday, August 4 | 12:30pm
Works by Scelsi and Haydn

Giacinto Scelsi (1905-1988) Okanagon (1968)
Marion Ravot, harp; Peter Walsh, double bass; Eduardo Leandro, percussion

Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) The Seven Last Words of Christ, Hob.XX:2 (1786-87)
Quartet 1: Leonard Fu, Mélanie Clapiès, violins; Maren Rothfritz, viola; Edvard Pogossian, cello
Quartet 2: Juliette Roos, Claire Bourg, violins; Yitong Guo, viola; Jean-Michel Fonteneau, cello
Quartet 3: Zenas Hsu, Brian Hong, violins; Emily Brandenburg, viola; Sarah Rommel, cello
with poetry by Mark Strand read by Eric Bass, Sandglass Theater

Pre-Concert Discussion

Saturday, August 4 | 7:00pm

Looking at Jörg Widmann’s Es war einmal… "Once upon a time…", with pianist Seth Knopp, clarinetist Yasmina Spiegelberg, and violist Roger Tapping

Pre-Concert Discussions

On Saturdays, audience members are invited to the Putney Public Library for an intimate introduction to the evening’s concert given by Yellow Barn musicians moderated by Artistic Director Seth Knopp.

On Saturday, July 14, audience members are invited to Next Stage for the film "Speak the Music", a documentary about Robert Mann followed by a discussion with Nicholas Mann.

Season Finale Concert

Saturday, August 4 | 8:00pm
Works by Crumb, Berberian, Dvořák, Schumann, Widmann, and Schoenberg

George Crumb (b.1929) Yesteryear (2005, rev.2013)
Melanie Henley Heyn, voice; Pedro Borges, amplified piano; Eduardo Leandro, Sam Seyong Um, percussion

Cathy Berberian (1925-1983) Stripsody (1966)
Melanie Henley Heyn, voice

Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904) Piano Quintet in A Major, Op.81 (1887)
EunAe Lee, piano; YuEun Kim, Leonard Fu, violins; Jesse Morrison, viola; Michael Kannen, cello


Robert Schumann (1810-1856) Fantasiestücke, Op.88 (1842)
Curtis Macomber, violin; Daniel Hamin Go, cello; Tomer Gewirtzman, piano

Jörg Widmann (b.1973) Es war einmal… “Once Upon A Time…” (2015)
Yasmina Spiegelberg, clarinet; Roger Tapping, viola; Seth Knopp, piano

Arnold Schoenberg (1874-1951) Notturno (1896)
Anthony Marwood, Claire Bourg, Mélanie Clapiès, Magdalena Filipczak, Zenas Hsu, Brian Hong, Emma Frucht, YuEun Kim, Juliette Roos, Jennifer Liu, Leonard Fu, violins; Maren Rothfritz, Lauren Siess, Emily Brandenburg, Tegen Davidge, violas; Edvard Pogossian, Cristina Basili, Sein Lee, Sarah Rommel, cellos; Peter Walsh, double bass; Marion Ravot, harp